The photographer’s relationship and response to the subject

I have been re-reading John Blakemore’s book “The Black and White Photography Workshop” published in 2005.  Although a book based on darkroom printing he has a lot to say about digital capture and printing. Blakemore talks a lot about the photographer’s relationship and response to the subject matter. He also makes an interesting point about prints that don’t totally satisfy as departure points for new avenues of exploration.

This shot was taken at the Avebury Stone Circle in Wiltshire. The lighting was fabulous for black and white as the low winter sun gave contrast and texture to everything in its path. Every time I go to somewhere like Avebury I always come away with the feeling that I am not a landscape photographer. There is always a nagging in the back of my head that I should be good at landscape photography especially when I am not delighted with the results.

Isn’t it strange and a good thing that we are all drawn to different subject matter?

(c) Andy Beel FRPS

12 responses to The photographer’s relationship and response to the subject

  1. Lesley says:

    Funny, I just started rereading his book as well last week, have you seen his new one? Like this split tonem ethereal.

    Like

  2. andybeel says:

    Hi Lesley I see the new Blakemore book is a retrospective.

    Lots of my prints work on a post-visualisation basis. This shot was taken with a 24mm lens at f16 an unusual aperture for me. I have recently been to a Joe Cornish talk so I sublimely thought I needed sharpness back to front when doing landscape. The softness in the background was added late in the post production.

    Seeing the result of this picture I would like to go back there again and use my 20mm f1.8 at a reasonably wide open aperture and see how the background is blurred to assist the ethereal feel.

    Andy

    Like

  3. A.Barlow says:

    That’s a really cool shot. Love the way it has really light and really dark areas playing nicely together.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Aaron that is one of the joys of Lith printing the smooth highlights and contrasty cool shadows.Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment.

      Andy

      Like

  4. athyfoto says:

    “… I always come away with the feeling that I am not a landscape photographer …”

    I know that feeling. All we can do is create our own interpretation of what is before us. If someone doesn’t get it, or doesn’t like it, so what! Unless it’s the commissioning client 😉

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

