Important Photography Issues

Have you thought about what is important to you in your photography?

Have you come across the old chestnut of working out what is urgent and what’s important? We all striving to complete tasks that are both urgent and important.

But what about the things that are important but not urgent, things to do in the future that are very easy to leave on the back burner?

See the rest of this article at http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk/Articles

The picture above was taken at Dungeness in Kent with a 100 – 40omm Zoom lens at 1/180 sec, f8 on a monopod.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS

 

10 responses to Important Photography Issues

  1. A.Barlow says:

    Really cool shot love the dark skies. The only thing really that I find important at this time photographically is that I keep making pictures. It’s a nice bonus if others like them, but that’s not as important. As long as I get to be creative and push that envelope, things will fall into place.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Yes persitence towards a defined goal will really help our photography. Thanks for dropping by my little blog. Andy

      Like

  2. mina says:

    I agree with you. But then again, I think sometimes it is also good to shoot freely … Sometimes I am attracted by a shot and I do not have a clear reason why … perhaps the reason comes later … or not ..

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Mina I have read that the sub-concious mind is may be a year or two in advance of the concious mind, perhaps that is why we all do creative things that we don’t know why but just know it feels right to us.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Andy

      Like

  3. I agree, it’s useful to have an objective, it concentrates the mind and forces us to think and search for the right photographic opportunity – but there’s always a space for intuition though. Sometimes though I find I have to ignore objectives and make the best of what I see, and that’s when I get the best shots.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Malcolm I fully agree that intuition is a primary guide. I take pictures of anything I find interesting especially in appropriate lighting. As I have never done colour photography I don’t get side tracked in to thinking about colour, only about brightness of tones.

      Thanks for commenting its appreciated. Andy

      Like

  4. robjbc says:

    A perfect B&W capture. A great use of a telephoto to bring it all together – the rows and tones of brooding clouds are moody and claustrophobic yet there’s a sense of vastness to the whole image too. I love the tension between, and framing provided by, the wall at the bottom right (a feature many would’ve left out I think) and the structure on the far left. Epic composition!

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Rob thanks for the kind words on the composition of the shot. I took the shot with a bit more space on the RHS. As I’d been to a Degas exhibition in London recently I noticed he has used this composition many times over the years – a long curve or crescent balanced by a darker tone on the opposite side of the frame. Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

