The reasons why – 2

EPV0021 as Smart Object-1 copy

The Simian Mountains – Northern Ethiopia 2006

Why I take and make photographs:

Reason 1 

  • To express my emotions and feelings.

Reasons  2 

  •  To present or express ideas and beliefs

I believe that as photographers and printers we have the opportunity to make our own choices of why, how, what and when we present our work to the viewer.

In the picture above, I choose to amplify the shape of the mountains by removing texture and detail. There are no right and wrong answers only feeling and perception.

I would wholeheartedly encourage you to follow your own individual path of creative expression. Do not listen to those who want to to push you in to making pictures that only look like everybody else’s work. I believe you are a creative individual prove me right.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2015

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 responses to The reasons why – 2

  1. Les Loosemore says:

    Hi Andy,

    Your latest blog and image (Simian Mountains) has inspired me to pen a rhyming verse (see attached). Hope you like, feel free to post on your blog if you so wish.

    Best Regards,

    Les

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Paula – When you live at an altitude of 12,000 feet there are going to be a few weather problems! Andy

      Like

  2. Adrian Lewis says:

    Good image, Andy, but, more than that, I agree with “There are no right and wrong answers only feeling and perception.”, and your final paragraph too – if I have core values, and maybe a religion too, these words of your’s encapsulate them. Adrian

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Adrian a belated happy new year. I have been thinking about the whys and motivation for taking pictures in the first place, why and what I offer as business. The exact words are not set in stone, I am currently mulling over version 10 of a vision statement! Andy

      Liked by 1 person

  3. andybeel says:

    Simian Mountains

    Darkened shapes bisect the sky, in your mind you question why
    Illumination filters through, which makes it easy to construe
    Casting shapes upon the earth, sometimes we suffer such a dearth
    Emotion, moody, such mystique, transformed from something very bleak

    Words by Les Loosemore inspired by an image by Andy Beel

    Like

  4. Lesley says:

    Why we do it and how we do it depends a lot on where and why, I have come to realise.
    After 11 days in Venice it was difficult trying to balance enjoying myself, sightseeing (as it was my first time) and serious themed project photography, I just gave up in the end and made images that spoke to me on the hoof! Hopefully, there will be a next time soon for all of that.:)

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Lesley the first time anywhere can be a bit over-whelming. You are gathering very useful info for you second visit. Andy

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts on this post

