A lighter camera bag

I am moving away from Canon who I have been using since going digital.

I have decided rightly or wrongly to go with the Fuji X-T1 with the 18-135mm lens. The Fuji body and lens weigh about the same as the Canon 5DII body on its own without a lens. The 18-135mm lens was the deciding factor in the end, it has an 35mm equivalent zoom range of 28-200mm. With the Canon gear I use, I have a 24-105mm lens and take a large number of shots at 105mm.

My feeling is that I would have used focal lengths beyond 105mm if they were available in one zoom lens. I own a Canon 70-200mm f2.8 IS lens, a superb lens but very big and bulky and most important heavy.

So my current thinking on a general standard camera bag contents is the Fuji X-T1 with 18-135mm lens (28-200mm in real terms!) and my Canon 5DII with a Sigma 12-24mm zoom.

I can always can always put Canon 100-400 lens in the car if the need arises.

See the DP Review report of the gold awarded Fuji X-T1camera at http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/fujifilm-x-t1.

The new camera and lens should arrive tomorrow morning in time for me to charge the battery and use it in North Devon tomorrow afternoon!

A big hello to all the new followers of my blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2014

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

16 responses to A lighter camera bag

  1. boandersen says:

    Looking forward to hearing your opinions and experiences with the Fuji. I have always used Canon but a year ago I purchased the Fujifilm X100s. I felt I needed a lighter and smaller camera. One that I could always have with me and that was more clandestine on the streets. But I had great reservations about image quality until I tried the X100S. It cannot match the quality from my 5DII, but it is absolutely acceptable and the little gem is now my most used camera. Simply because of the form factor which equals more shots taken.

    Liked by 1 person

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Bo as you say a discreet camera for street photography is always useful if you are doing candid shots. Thanks Andy

      Like

  2. athyfoto says:

    I too chose to go down the compact system route about a month ago. I opted for the Sony a7r with a 24-70 lens. I have kept all the Nikon gear however. I have so far resisted the urge to buy a lens mount converter to utilise all my Nikon lenses and force myself to work within the constraints of the single lens. So far I am really enjoying not having a hefty bag on my shoulder. The full frame sensor is really good and performs really well in low light. I’m not a fan of trawling through on screen menus and I’m happy that I can get at the aperture, shutter speed and ISO settings without having to seek them out in the menus.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank thanks for your comments. I was interested in the A7s for time and wondered about the handling and balance of a tiny body with a zoom lens.But eventually decided the other way. Thanks Andy

      Like

  3. Currently toying with getting the XT-1 or the OM-D E-1 as lugging around FF Nikon is becoming a nuisance, and I feel very conspicuous at times using it.
    What made you go for the Fuji Andy, did you consider micro 4/3?

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Simon thanks for your comments. I see on DP Review that the X-T1 and E-1 are very similar in many respects. I preferred the look and style of the Fuji. Yes I have experience of micro 4/3 – I have an old Panasonic G2. I looked at the GH4 as a potential replacement but the DXO rating of the sensors does not show as much progress to keep up with competitors. I felt it was targeted at the movie market not photographers. Thanks Andy

      Like

  4. Hey Andy – I absolutely agree with your line of thinking. To me most photographers these days have gear that is way too big and cumbersome! When I had access to the Epson 9900 printer I had no trouble making gorgeous prints from my work with my Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-TX10.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Christian I agree that there are a couple aspect of all this that needs to be thought about.What is the output to be used for? What do you need a 36mp camera for if only to put stuff on the web at 72dpi? The second issue is print viewing distance – apart from the web most of my files are used for talks with the audience along way from the prints. Thanks Andy

      Like

  5. David Thomas says:

    Maybe this is a sign that photographers, in particular amateurs, are moving away from kit towards creativity. Ultimately it’s the resultant image that matters not the machinery used to achieve it. (a little bit tongue in cheek!)

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi David that is exactly it, its the end result that matters not how you got there. So much of photography is pigeon-holed these days. Andy

      Like

  6. Russ says:

    battery life is a major issue for me with the Fujis, I do love my X-E2 but it eats batteries,

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Russ thanks, I was just wise enough to buy a spare battery when I got the camera and am thinking of getting a third just in case i get carried away one day. Andy

      Like

  7. LensScaper says:

    Hi Andy. I’ve been striding round London quite a lot recently with a Nikon body and two lenses and my shoulders have suffered. It’s OK for half an hour but after three you start to feel the weight (actually it’s well before three hours!). I still find the Canon G10 great to tuck in a pocket (has to be quite a big pocket) but it’s no good above 400 ISO really – the noise becomes very evident. However the thought of obsessing over what ‘street’ camera is best is a task I keep putting off. It will be interesting to read how you get on with this new baby.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy I know the feeling well. I had a G9 and hated it – totally useless even at 80 ISO for noise. But that is not an issue with the X-T1. Thanks Andy

      Like

  8. Adrian Lewis says:

    Hi Andy, interesting post! Lighter gear might get to me at some stage but I’m staying with FF Nikon for now. But following Lenscaper’s comment – I use Op/Tech neckstraps for my D700/800, and these straps really do spread the weight very well.

    And I know what you mean about wanting to go above 105mm, Andy – the 70-300 Nikkor is my all out favourite – I take so many shots at 300mm. And finally, yes, the Sigma 12-24 – who on earth would be without it??? Adrian

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Adrian I went out a few days ago with the Fuji and most of the shots I took were on the 200mm end of the lens. I rarely carried my Canon 70-200mm f2.8 IS lens because of the weight. My bag now contains the Fuji and a 5DII with the 12-24mm – 12 to 200mm in two lenses. Great. Regards Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

