Strangers on the shore

_MG_3602-Edit-2-2Bournemouth sea shore early evening. Post processing in Lightroom 5 and Color Efex Pro 4.

The original idea was a warm tone picture with heavy film grain. However I feel the cool tone works well with this picture. You will probably need to make the picture bigger to see the grain by holding down the control key and scrolling the mouse wheel.

Taken with a cheap 50mm f1.8 lens at f1.8 in fading light. As with all digital photography expose for the highlights and process for the shadows.

A big hello to all the new followers to my blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2014

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

2 responses to Strangers on the shore

  1. andybeel says:

    Hi Adrian thanks for the appreciation. Mono hasn’t gone its just that I have found ways to explore colour. I’ve had Color Efex Pro for years and never opened it, when I did, I found it worked completely differently to Silver Efex. So I left it. Then I watched a not very good color Efex tutorial on YouTube recently and thought this isn’t so scary after. At the same time I found a Lensbaby Zone plate adapter that I had forgotten about that gives soft glow in the highlights. So I combined the softness with film grain. This combination reminded me of a book called by the sea by Robert Farber done in the 80’s with Agfa 1000 ASA film. Then I did some proof prints to replicate the size of the Agfa 1000 film grain. So its a work in progress at the moment. The idea was to take a couple of thousand pictures and may produce up to 20 prints as part of a talk. Andy

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

