The slaves of the oridinary 2

_MG_5271Its been a real eye opener to revisit some of my old darkroom prints taken and printed in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s. I have had a pile of 50 – 60 prints sitting in my small back bedroom for decades un-looked at. Andy at LenScaper has been digitizing his old old prints so I thought why not, its only a dust off and half a second at f11 under the 85mm lens.

Ever since I created my website www.andybeelfrps.co.uk three years ago I have always included the quotes that have been influential on my photography in the section called tips and tricks.

Here is a quote that is very relevant to me and my photography.

“To define is to destroy, to suggest is create”.
Stephane Mallarme

This picture was taken in 1990 during a screening of Swan Lake on the TV, with a suitable shutter speed to blur the action.

For those of you who feel like me that digital photography is not all that it cracked up to be because its too everything: precise, accurate, sharp etc. Drink in and think about these words “to suggest is to create”.

and

“Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary”.
Cecil Beaton

A big hello to all the new followers of my blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2014

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

 

4 responses to The slaves of the oridinary 2

  1. Helen C says:

    Good morning, Andy. I like this photo a lot, but there are several purposely blurred (suggesting?) pictures by good photographers that I don’t like (I tried hard, but I just didn’t enjoy them). I wonder if there is a guideline for this.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Helen fortunately we are all creative individuals with a different culture, education, likes, dislikes etc. You are you, you don’t need to like everything or perhaps always understand why you are attracted or not to a picture. All the best. Andy

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    What a great quote from Cecil Beaton. And thanks for the mention. I’ve never heard of Stephane Mallarme but I’m off to look up the name on t’internet

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy its easy to read and understand quotes but doing it is another thing all together. All the best Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

