Old B&W darkroom prints

_MG_5201A long time ago I did studio portraiture. This picture of a Goth was taken and printed in 1989.

This print may have been in my Licentiate or Associateship applications to the Royal Photographic Society. Both applications were successful in 1989. I became a Fellow the RPS in 1990.

For a jolly wheeze this afternoon I put my camera with a 50mm lens at f11 on a tripod in my kitchen and copied a few of my old darkroom prints. If you look at the picture full size you will see perhaps I should have dusted the prints before I took the pictures as there is a lot of dust around.

Male portraiture for me is best done with a single light.

A big hello to the new followers of my blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2014

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

4 responses to Old B&W darkroom prints

  1. LensScaper says:

    I’ve done exactly the same thing with my old prints from the ’70s, Andy. The hardest problem was finding somewhere in the house where window light did not reflect off the print’s surface. That problem solved, within a half hour I had given a second life to about forty old exhibition prints. Saved myself a huge amount of time c/w scanning the original negs with a Nikon coolscan. I hope we aren’t the only folk that have used this short cut.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy long time no speak! I had a similar problem this print – but I just darken the bottom of the print in Lightroom. I could scan negs if I could find the ones I was looking for easily!! Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

