Infra-red inspiration

_MG_6812In the past week I have had cause to talk about infra-red photography three times. So feeling inspired after re-reading a book called “Infra-red Photography – a complete workshop guide” by my good friend Hugh Milsom MFIAP I thought I would have a go. The book is about film based IR photography but with lots of tips and great portfolios of pictures.

As there was strong directional lighting yesterday evening I took my IR converted camera body to an area of Bristol docks I do not normally use on my ABC of CameraWork courses (see my website for details). IR photography is usually light foliage and dark skies, I wanted a different look. Hence why I chose Architecture.

I would normally use a 10-22mm lens on a converted 20D body but I have lent this lens to friend, so I used a 24-105mm lens at 24mm (38mm equivalent on full frame) which turned out to be semi telephoto for my purposes. When I do this location again I will either use the 10-22mm (16-35mm equivalent) or may be a 12-24mm (19-38mm equivalent).

A quote I came across today may be useful to you “A creative man is motivated by the desire to achieve, not by the desire to beat others.” – Ayn Rand.

A big hello to all the new followers of my blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2014

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

4 responses to Infra-red inspiration

  1. Gordon Lycett FRPS says:

    As always, a striking image that promotes further ideas. On the tech side, what did you use to set your white balance? Keep blogging!

    Like

  2. andybeel says:

    Hi Gordon thanks for your kind words. A custom WB pre-set was created when the conversion was done in the US. I haven’t changed it, but Lightroom says the colour temp is 2000 with a tint of -53. The raw files have a magenta cast before converting to B&W. From memory it only sees IR without visible light. Thanks Andy

    Like

    • Hi Andy, mine, a D100, was also converted in the US but does not have a WB provided. I use a custom set pointing at grass, recommended to me by Midlands photographers. OK if I convert to mono but iffy when trying to channel swap in colour.
      Best wishes,

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

