Digital mono print talk

Dusty Road Ethiopia 2006I am pleased to announce that I will be giving a talk called “The digital monochrome print” on the Wirral in the UK at the Vauxhall Motors Sports and Social Club, Rivacre Road, Ellesmere Port this coming Sunday afternoon.

If there are any remaining tickets they can purchased through

John Rowell  on 01286 872361.

This is quite a prestigious event and I’m quite delighted to be invited to give the presentation bearing in mind the quality of the previous speakers over the years. The presentation for around 100 people will begin at 13.30.

The talk will be a combination of A2 sized mono prints, slideshow with commentary in the first half. Followed by an overview “how to” session with my laptop in CS6 and Lightroom 5 in the second.

For reasons I cannot explain at the moment I have been looking back at my now old Ethiopia pictures. One of the things which impressed me about Ethiopia was the light and the dust.

The things which add atmosphere and mood to a picture are rain, dust, smoke, steam, fog etc.

As I have said before there is no such thing as the wrong weather or atmosphere or climate just the wrong clothing and inappropriate attitude. So when it is raining, misty or foggy then is the time to go and get pictures with mood and atmosphere.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2013

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

8 responses to Digital mono print talk

  1. joanne searle says:

    What a brilliant image. With the faded figures just visible in the background it certainly is full of atmosphere, I just love it.

    Your talks are obviously gaining momentum. Having been in an audience when you have been speaking I am sure all those attending at the Vauxhall Motor Sports Club are in for a treat.

    Best Wishes

    Joanne

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Joanne – thanks for your support, the old ones are the best, this was taken in 2006.

      When the Wirral Convention was booked last February it seemed like an age away – now its here. The scary part is I am going to try in public for the first time a slideshow with live commentary, so what can go wrong with that?

      See you tomorrow. Andy

      Like

  2. kilted1 says:

    Best of luck with your talk. I’ve just purchase an Epson 3880. It’ll be my first real photo printer mainly to be used for black and white. Nice shot. This one BTW.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Kilted 1 – thanks for your comments, you have bought an excellent printer – enjoy it.

      I find a very small audience more difficult that a large one, I think most speakers do for some strange reason. Andy

      Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Rd yes there are a few of us around saying it. Beginners tend to think you need contrasty bright lighting – what I avoid – I add contrast in the processing. Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

