Adobe leaks 150m passwords

Keflavic Steam PlantLast week Adobe lost the password details for 150,000,000 of its customers as reported by The Guardian newspaper in the UK.

Your Adobe account and possible bank details may be at risk if you have similar passwords.

To check if your Adobe account is one of the 150 million affected go to http://adobe.cynic.al, a tool created by programmer @Hilare_Belloc, users can check if their email address was included in the 10GB database leaked last week. If it isn’t, then they are safe, but if it is, then they need to seriously check whether they reused the password anywhere else – because it is as good as revealed.

I checked and mine was included so I have changed my Adobe Account password.

Adobe.com has a vague post about a security issue and they say they are emailing affected customers, I was not emailed and I am affected.

 

 

 

13 responses to Adobe leaks 150m passwords

  1. bananabatman says:

    And me, though I think they may have notified me of the hacking when it first happened, advising me that passwords may have been compromised. No specific reference to mine though.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank I understand that the press chose the word leaked because Adobe did not encrypt the information. Isn’t 20 – 20 vision great!

      And very sound advice. Andy

      Like

      • athyfoto says:

        WOW! Can you believe that? In this day and age having customer info un-encrypted! I can’t understand why they didn’t e-mail us right away. If I hadn’t seen you post I wouldn’t have known until they decided in their own sweet time to tell me. Just been chatting with Adobe, they sound quite laid back about it :-0

        Like

        • andybeel says:

          Hi Frank to me it seems incredulous, naive and stupid, especially when Adobe’s whole business model is based on the monthly payments of clients.

          Would they be so gallant and irresponsible if their bank account was emptied?

          Off to bed. Andy

          Like

  2. athyfoto says:

    p.s it may be worthwhile obtaining a random p/w generator so you can generate a unique p/w for every site you use. That’s what I do so that any breaches in security means I only need to change the one set of details for the compromised site.

    Like

  3. Paula says:

    Acted upon your advise.
    Love your photo…very suitable: where there is smoke there is fire..Adobe your are almost fired!!

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

