Quays bridge

Quays bridgeI was working in Manchester on Tuesday and Wednesday doing a one to one tuition session with a client and had the opportunity to go to Salford Quays, which is something that I have wanted to do for a long time.

Also being there in the evening was a bonus because I had good low directional lighting. I arrived around 6 pm and took around 250 pictures until the light dropped over the horizon at 7:53 pm. In this situation generally the better pictures come with the lower angled lighting, later in the session rather than earlier. Once the Sun is gone and the light is gone that’s it for black-and-white photographers because we photograph light and texture not colour.

Another benefit of that time of day was there were lots of people walking through my pictures giving a sense of movement and loads and loads of bicyclists zooming past on their bikes allowing me to use a slow shutter speed to blur the movement.

A last call for anybody wanting to come to my Calumet Seminars in Bristol next week. I will be doing “Lightroom for black and white photographers” on Tuesday and “A Monochrome Printing Workshop” on Wednesday. These seminars are booked through the Calumet Photographic seminars website.

A big hello to all new followers on my little blog this week.

(C) Andy Beel FRPS 2013

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

4 responses to Quays bridge

  1. athyfoto says:

    Wow! This image really packs a punch. This is a bridge I have crossed so many times and walked between the War Museum and the Lowry Centre and yet this view is new to me.

    Just goes to show that while I am aware of “working a scene” I am not doing it well enough. While I have been happy with images I have come away from Salford Quays with in the past this has shown me a weakness in my technique. Again I have learned something from you Andy. 🙂

    Like

  2. andybeel says:

    Hi Frank the lighting on Tuesday evening was wonderful. We are all too familiar with the places we know well, I very rarely take pictures in Bristol. Seeing in a new place is easy, finding new pictures in the familiar is difficult. That’s why Freeman Patterson says that real expressive seeing is using the whole person: senses, emotions and intellect. Keep the good work. Andy

    Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    This is a place that is high on my list of ‘must visit’. The man, centre image, who is I think holding a camera, really completes this image for me.

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

