Slaves of the ordinary

_1100110“Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary.”

Cecil Beaton

I am hugely indebted to my friend Adrian at FATman photos see eccentric99.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/rants-and-cecil-beaton/ for this wonderful quote from the English photographer and stage designer Cecil Beaton.

This back stage shot was diffused through blue plastic fencing at the Bristol Harbour Festival yesterday evening.

My apologies you should be seeing this picture about 50% brighter than its displayed on WordPress. The shape of the girl walking out of the frame should be ethereal and transient not fully defined.

After four attempt’s to present the picture as conceived I have failed and I don’t understand why. This is an sRGB proof JPEG copy file created in Lightroom so why won’t the web browser display the file as saved on a calibrated monitor?  I use two calibrated monitors so I can see the WordPress version, is darker than the Lightroom proof copy.

The dark art of colour management strikes again!

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2013

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

5 responses to Slaves of the ordinary

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Great image, Andy, I like that a lot, very good indeed – I would never have thought of that composition. And thanks for the plug! Adrian

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Adrian thanks this was not the original picture I was going to put with quote. I felt they went together rather well in the end. May be see you Thursday if the thunderstorms have stopped. Andy

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    I’m often disappointed by the inability of WordPress to post my images to march what I see on my calibrated monitor – and we are not the only two to complain about this! Over and above that it always infuriates me that when WordPress resizes images so much of the sharpness is lost.

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

