10 reasons to create a photo blog

Walk the lineI was asked a few month ago by a friend why I started my blog?

Here are the 10 benefits I jotted down at the time of the question.

Leave a comment if you can add to the list of benefits.

  • A global outlet for the sharing of pictures and photographic experience – my current work is seen in over ninety countries with over 1000 views on average per month.
  • The opportunity to try out new ideas on the blogosphere with prompt feedback comments from people with a broad spectrum of approaches, taste and experience.
  • The chance to ask questions of others to find a solution to a problem or issue.
  • Provides an avenue to advertise a website.
  • The passing on of experience and tips to 800+ followers and growing daily.
  • “Andy Beel’s is a must see blog” – a good blog gives kudos.
  • To be a part of a global community that appreciates and celebrates photography.
  • A time related record of change and progress through your photographic journey.
  • Make photo friends around the world.
  • It’s free, easy to set-up and maintains a web presence.

The picture above is called “Walk the line” taken on a dull day in Norwich on a bride over the River Yare. The overcast sky wasn’t helping so I cropped it out. Remember “use or lose it” when comes to composition. I lead face down on the bridge to get the low angle and the converging lines. Fortunately there weren’t many people around on a cold May day to think I was having a heart attack or stroke!

Hi Barry – how’s Lightroom going?

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2013

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

19 responses to 10 reasons to create a photo blog

  1. alan frost says:

    Hi Andy. I have been reading your blog for quite a while and this entry sums up very well why I started my photo blog just 12 months ago. I find it to be an excellent way to record my thoughts and photographs, to chart my progress and by reading other ‘blogs’ to learn and be inspired by others.

    Like

  2. Paula says:

    ‘Walking the line’, Andy, you are right…10 very good reasons and you are making me feel very guilty that I, in spite of occasional prompts, still have not got round to starting one. It is pleasant though, to just sit back and admire the work of others without any pressure at all to walk the line! A profound title to a super pic.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Paula Funnily enough you weren’t the friend I was referring to at the start of the post. My intention was not to make you feel guilty! Thanks for the encouragement. Andy

      Like

  3. I agree but! I’m on a par roughly for visitors but I have had to remove “comment” and ping because of spam etc. the latest today in Japanese.
    I don’t do b/w except IR but I love to see it so keep going. Skype me sometime.
    Regards
    Gordon. dapagroup.com/effate

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Gordon Fortunately I’ve never had a problem with spam on my blog. Thanks for the encouragement.

      Andy

      Like

  4. trippybeth says:

    My reasons are similar… I LOVE all the new photo friends that I’ve made, those friendships would not have been possible without my blog!!

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Beth yes blogging is a great way to connect with fellow photographers all around the world. Andy

      Like

  5. Cynthia says:

    A great list. I really like your point about the blog being a record of change over time.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Cynthia – a collection of work say over a five ten year period becomes much more meaningful when its in one place so it can be reviewed. Thanks Andy

      Like

  6. LensScaper says:

    I agree entirely with your list – starting a blog 21 months ago was one of the best things I’ve done for a long time. I have two more benefits ( not sure that is quite the right word) to add to the list:
    1. Daily exposure to a gallery of over 50 new images from around the world to inspire me.
    2. The opportunity to write a ‘column’ for a global magazine where I set the topic and don’t have an editor telling me what to write.
    I have always wanted to write creatively and the blog for me provides an opportunity to scribble something on a regular basis that other folk appear to like. And finally what a nice bunch of people one finds in the Photoblogging community. Your blog is part of my regular reading. Keep going, Andy. It’s always well worth the read.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy I really like your point about about writing without the need to fulfill an Editors brief. In 2008 I started to write a photography book, unfortunately its still in a very very draft outline. Who knows it might get published as a e book or preferably a printed book one day. Books give the writer credibility I hear! Thanks for the encouragement. Andy

      Like

  7. athyfoto says:

    Hi Andy,
    A must see blog indeed! I think I wrote that, so it must be true 🙂

    For me, my blog, as slow paced and relaxed as it is, is one of the things that provides me with the inspiration to get out and make more pictures.

    And yes, it is a good feeling when you get “likes” from people around the world. I also like having access to the opinions of professional and amateur photographers alike. I believe I have grown as a photographer since I started using forums and creating a photo blog.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank thanks for the commendation I am glad you owned up to that quote as I could not remember where it came from! Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

