“The simple secret of becoming a first class photographer”

Pilgrims ProgressAn update on the “Lightroom for black and white photographers” seminar I ran last Saturday which  I am pleased to say was fully booked. The ten delegates had a great time and went away with a lot more “how to” in lightroom than they had before they came from such great distances to join the group.

The next seminar I am doing at Calumet Photographic in Bristol is called “The simple secret of becoming a first class photographer” on the 22nd June. The day will focus on the role of the photographer in the picture making process.

Please refer my website for details and booking.

This picture called “Pilgrims progress” was taken at Malham Cove in North Yorkshire recently. I was interested in the way the path appeared and disappeared from view, leading the eye in/ out of the top right hand corner of the frame. The square crop adds to the diagonal composition.

A top tip I have always used in my compositional thinking – “use it or loss it”. If an element is not adding value to the picture, it is a distraction that should be toned down or removed / cropped out. In this picture I only wanted the path and the legs to be dominant feature, the texture in the grass beside the path was not adding to the picture so it had to go. For me, the appeal of a picture like this is what is left out and it still makes a coherent statement.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2013

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

3 responses to “The simple secret of becoming a first class photographer”

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Excellent image, Andy, superb – Minimalism lives!

    And I am simply unable to express how much I agree with your “Use it or lose it” thoughts. I have totally lost count of the number of times I’ve made just this point on my blog – to what effect I have no idea!

    But I have a feeling that this message needs a lot more hammering home yet – its so depressing to see images with extraneous material but they are out there – in abundance! Adrian

    Like

  2. andybeel says:

    Hi Adrian thanks for the endorsement. You certainly have minimalism down to a fine art.

    Now that you are retired it would be good to meet up.
    Andy

    Like

    • Adrian Lewis says:

      Absolutely, Andy, let’s meet up, that would be good! I think you already have my home email ie as opposed to the one for my blog >>> email me and we can exchange phone numbers and arrange a meeting.

      A short term problem is that we’re about to have workmen in here for 3 weeks during which time either my wife or I will have to be at home – but doubtless we can work something out sooner or later. Looking forward to it! Adrian

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

