The Long Road again and again

Long road homeIt’s funny how winning pictures are like buses you wait for ages and then two come along all the same time.

The picture “The long road” taken in Iceland has come up trumps again with the acceptances in two major exhibitions. I am always pleased to get acceptances in the London Salon of photography. See http://www.londonsalon.org/  for this years exhibition pictures and venues.

The Royal Photographic Society also selected the same print to represent them at the Photo London Art Fair coming up shortly – See www.rps.org/events/view/3057

Here’s a suggestion for a book that you may find helpful especially if you are the type of photographer that enters photographic competitions or International Salons.

The book is called “Looking at Photographs – a personal view of appraising and judging photographs” by Ken Holland. This is a very rare publication due to its subject matter, there are very few books written on how to judge competitions and what judges look for in a picture. Fortunately Ken goes through and beyond the obvious technical attributes of a competent photograph sought by competition judges. The primary reason why pictures win competitions is that they have a strong emotional story to tell that is effectively communicated to the viewer without distractions.

This is a Blurb book that can be purchased through the following link www.blurb.com/my/book/detail/2932165

I’m not going to go into the pros and cons of competitions now because I posted on this subject before, and for me those who want to win competitions will have to produce an acceptable competition style. Seeking a competition style may be at variance to the photographer’s highest potential.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2013

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

6 responses to The Long Road again and again

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Andy, you and I are so different – even if I were to produce something good enough for an exhibition, exhibiting it would not be something meaningful to me.

    However, that said, this is a truly stunning image – I can only hope that, sometime, I’ll be good enough to create something this good. Very well done! Adrian

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Adrian I am not anywhere near as competitive as you may think I am. I only enter three or four Exhibitions a year. My main reason for entering the difficult Salons to get in to is one of professional exposure.

      Your blog probably reaches just as many people who will see a hung exhibition.

      Thanks for the praise its much appreciated – thanks. Andy

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Well done Andy – it’s a quintessentially ‘you’ Image. I recall something very similar some time ago. How long did you have to wait for a vehicle to complete the scene? Interesting final comment on Exhibition Photography. I decided when I re-engaged in my hobby when I retired that I wasn’t going to bend my photography to meet the ‘style’ required by judges. I just enjoy what I do now and that’s good enough for me, if others enjoy it then that is a bonus. However that sounds like a fascinating book.

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

