Black and White Photo Seminar

d a 3I am pleased the one day  “Lightroom for black and white photographers” seminar I am running on 11th May in Bristol with Calumet Photo Stores will be mentioned in the news sections of Black and White Magazine and the RPS Journal.I will also try to advertise the seminar in Amateur Photographer magazine nearer the date.

Come and learn the simple but powerful black and white photography workflow that has allowed me to know the simple secret of how to become a first-class photographer.

See www.calumetseminars.co.uk/component/content/article/40-photography/1001-lightroom-for-black-and-white-photographers-bristol.html

I find this an interesting picture, for the purists amongst you, you will hate the areas of solid black were there is no detail in the shadows. But from me this picture relies on the three highlights which form a triangular composition. The mood is created by the darkness and the lack of detail. For me detail doesn’t necessarily equal truth and relevance.

This was taken down in Dungeness in Kent at 125th at f8. This is my interpretation of the subject and is not a literal representation. I have chosen to accent the highlights and to darken and everything else around them to create contrast. Remembering of course that black and white photography is about contrast. I tried various versions of this picture in differing brightness ‘s and found this version to be partially satisfactory.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2013

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

4 responses to Black and White Photo Seminar

  1. athyfoto says:

    Oh I wouldn’t worry about what the “Purists” may think. This image stands up and speaks for itself. It is easy to imagine yourself walking along and being confronted with this view. Personally, I think it would stop me in my tracks and I would have to just stand and take it in. I have never been to Dungeness but I have seen so much of it on various TV programs and every time I see it I always think “I must go there one day”. It looks a fascinating place and your image captures the strange nature of the landscape there very well.

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    I too have never been to Dungeness but this seems to sum it up – collating a number of well remembered images into one full of contrast. I like it but wonder if you considered cropping about 1/3 off the bottom, Andy? I’m not a purist at all but compositionally I wonder if that would strengthen further the triangular arrangement of the ‘highlights’

    Like

  3. opobs says:

    Nothing to do with your post, but thanks very much for an interesting and thought-provoking session at Bridgend Camera Club last evening – much appreciated!

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

