Llantwit Major

Llan 1Please look at the picture full-size against a grey background.

This is Llantwit Major on the Welsh heritage coast near Newport. The past few days I have been on a mini lecture tour in South Wales. On Thursday evening I was giving a talk in Pembrokeshire in the seaside holiday town of Tenby. Then on the Thursday evening I stayed with a friend in Bridgend. We spent the most of the morning looking at potential Fellowship panels that he may forward to the Royal Photographic Society for assessment. Then later on I went to take some pictures around Ogmore by Sea, ending up at Llantwit Major as the light was fading. The tide was in yesterday afternoon and I was trying to emulate a picture by my friend Peter Phillips but the water was severely hampering where I could stand.

So this post is just a before and after type that I have done many times before on my blog. As with most of my pictures now it was done in lightroom 4 where I used the adjustment brush and adjustment gradient to make the change changes you see here. Llan 2The main tools I used to get the perception of depth was clarity which was only applied in the foreground, it was not applied in the sky or background.

And just to finish the set off, right is the un-processed colour original taken on a dull and flat Friday afternoon.Llan 3
A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2013
www.andybeelfrps.co.uk  Ranked 1st by Google for Black and White Photography.
1 response to Llantwit Major

Please share your thoughts on this post

