Your role as one of the “creatives” is to…

Tuscany HillsPlease look at the picture full size against a grey background.

In this world there are very few new ideas. What a ridiculous thing to say! I will repeat it, in this world there are very few new ideas.

Most new ideas are not new at all but a combination of ideas or concepts that have already been worked up to various stages of completeness.

Understanding which existing ideas may have potential synergy is a key question. Synergy means interaction between two or more ideas.

Your role as one of the “creatives” is to initiate, think about and understand the relationships that exist between the ideas that already exist.

Let me give you an example – I was inspired by a friend of mine Paul Foley FRPS who takes wonderful pictures of Tuscany in Italy. Paul’s pictures are not the usual tourist traps like the farm-house at Belvedere in the mist that has been done to death. He takes very minimal pictures of the early morning mist rising over the gently rolling hills. See www.paulfoleyphotography.com/

My picture above called “Tuscan Hills” was not taken in Italy it was taken in the UK. I combined the ideas of rolling Tuscan hills and mist with undulation in the roof of my soft top convertible car and back-lit steam that was rising from the roof as the sun-dried out the fabric after early morning rain. I had seen steam rising from the roof of my car many times before but I had not connected the roof fabric with the appearance of rolling hills.

I will be lecturing on digital monochrome photography for the Royal Photgraphic Society’s Digital Imaging Group on Sunday for the day. See www.rps.org/group/Thames-Valley-Centre.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2013

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

 

9 responses to Your role as one of the “creatives” is to…

  1. RosaleenM says:

    Andy that is just soooooo brilliant! And certainly looking and thinking a bit further than our noses!

    Have been meaning to ask now for some months, do u have any online lectures etc? I so want to attend one of your lectures/courses but thousands miles separate NZ and UK.
    Kiwi greetings
    R

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Rosaleen
      I’m glad you find the blog informative and useful.

      I am happy to do a lecture tour in New Zealand if I was to be invited. I have lots of people in America saying the same thing as you.

      Unfortunatetly I don’t have on-line lectures at the moment. But just today I was talking to somebody about creating webinars for another purpose. Over the next few weeks I should get a better handle on what’s required. At the moment my knowledge of webinars etc is zero. So I have a lot of learning to do.

      So you have my permission to email me and bug me about what’s happening about creating webinars.

      Thanks – Its a good commercial idea.
      Regards Andy

      Like

  2. Murray Foote says:

    I don’t agree with your premise, Andy.

    I think that if you don’t operate from within a referential framework, new ideas are common. I think a successful photograph can create new relationships and even be the vehicle for expressing new ideas. Inevitably, though, what the relationships and ideas could be depends also on the cultural context and individual perspective of the viewer as well as the objective reality of the photograph.

    The premise I would agree with is “Your role as one of the ‘creatives’ is to initiate, think about and understand relationships between ideas”.

    Like

  3. Paula says:

    Well said, Andy..now it only needs folk to listen and heed the words.
    Confirms that interesting photography is all about seeing things in a different way.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Paula
      The phrase comes to mind “you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it drink”.

      From somewhere in the depths of my memory I recall something about if you talk to 100 people in a meeting, 50 people will think what you’re talking about is a good idea, 10 people will intend on acting on it, but only one person will actually act upon the idea which are been expressed.
      Andy

      Like

  4. Janice says:

    Andy, Looking forward to seeing you and your work at the RPS digital imaging group tomorrow!
    The car roof is a great idea. The seeing eye! 🙂

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Janice
      Apologies for not replying sooner but it’s been quite a busy week. Yes it was good to meet you on Sunday and I hope you enjoyed the talk and found it useful.
      Andy

      Like

  5. bananabatman says:

    Such a simple and effective image. I do have trouble with ‘inspiration’ now. I put it down to age, but maybe there is hope if I can learn a little from your examples.

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

