Snapseed for PC

Please look at the picture full size against a grey background.
This is a rare style of picture from me. I bought a copy Snapseed Software for a PC from Nik in Germany a while ago, did a few pictures with it and then forgot about it. This was one of the early experiments.

I like some of the modern look of pictures taken with a phone camera and then processed with an App. Three years ago I don’t think I’d heard of an App. for mobile phones.

Mobile phones with a camera are possibly the future. I have just weighed my Canon camera – normal 24-105mm L lens & battery pack which weighs 4 1/2 lbs (2.0 Kg). I have a Panasonic G2 with its kit lens that weighs 600 grams. My Mobile phone weighs about 150 grams but is 13 years old and doesn’t have a camera.

My camera backpack normally weighs around 22 pounds when fully loaded. These old bones were not built for such labours as carrying 22 lbs of gear.

The solution must be out there somewhere?

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

16 responses to Snapseed for PC

  1. athyfoto says:

    Snapseed for PC is a nice little piece of kit . I use it occasionally and find it usually produces something that pleases. Its a bit like having someone do all the work for you in a way. I also got a free app on the iPhone called Camera Awesome (awful name) and I paid for ALL the textures, filters and frames, forever, for 6.99. I too feel the weight of my kit more and more these days 🙂
    I am thinking about using the phone camera for a short while just to see what happens and what I end up with.

    p.s you got me wondering and so I have just weighed my shoulder bag that I has the kit inside I most often go out with and it weighs 19 pounds! I wonder if I should mention this to my chiropractor? 🙂

    Like

  2. Russ says:

    Snapspeed looks like an excellent piece of kit, have tried it on the PC, but i find it a bit limiting, as i have the full Nik Suite in CS5. Once it has been released for Android though it will be an excellent tool, hopefully one that can save us all from the junk created by Instagram.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Thanks for the tip I would have change as you say and a completely different style of photography! Andy

      Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    I am just recently getting to grips with an iPhone and am using Instagram. Very basic presets but I am finding the results surprisingly good and with a ‘look’ that is different, I think. Or am I just kidding myself! But it sure beats lugging a pack load of camera gear, or a Canon G10 which really doesn’t fit in a pocket.

    Like

  4. Lesley says:

    I use Snapseed on my iphone a lot it’s a great app. I think it’s great we have so many choices to suit our lifestyle to record life. There is a famous photojournalist who covered a war recently on his iphone, can’t remember his name tho!

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Lesley as you say there lots of Apps out there. Sorry I cannot help with the photojournalists name. Andy

      Like

  5. Nick Ayers says:

    I considered buying a G12 or the Nikon equivelant but they are too big and heavy to put in my pocket. I wanted a camera that would always be with me. I use an iPhone 4S – this has a very good quality lens and produces 8 MP pictures. The only drawback is that the zoom is digital. I ignore the zoom and the pictures are very good quality.
    Nick Ayers

    Like

  6. Rosaleen says:

    Not to forget the how easy it is to do editing on your phone, anywhere, anytime, whenever u need to kill some time, etc etc.You can of course if so prefer transfer the phone images to pc and edit there.

    *Canon 450 d EOS usually 50 mm lens, filters, tripod, extra batteries, memo cards, back pack or sling bag, two lenses, and I dont even remember what else inside the back pack LOL weighs a ton or so it feels after a day out. Or always in the way when I sling the cam over my shoulder for some street work.

    *Samsung Galaxy III (new) just upgraded from the first one as the screen is larger – good for us oldies , which fits in my pocket or handbag, no weight at all.

    *iPad as there are apple apps which android does nt have (yet) and I like very much, also fits in my handbag.

    *Holga plastic medium format 120 camera (Lomography) with “real films” , now this is even more fun.

    Canon has nt seen the outside of the bag for quite a while now 🙂

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Rosaleen It seems all these Apps try to get away from the clinical look of straight digital as well as being conveniently sized. It would appear that the exciting research is in mobile phone technology and not cameras! Andy

      Like

  7. Rosaleen says:

    Apologies if this response is duplicated, there seems to be an error somewhere. This reply was meant to be the first one.

    Andy, treat yourself to a new smart phone, and start firing away! Apart from snapseed there are a few other pro camera and editing apps available, both for apple and android which gives u full control without the use of the “instant” filters. Have a look at http://www.iphoneography.com, great images. Exhibitions of mobile images popping up all over the world. Also check out http://www.dphoto.com a New Zealand photography magazine’s www that is running a montly comp for mobile phones. You will not be able to tell the diff between the mobile work and a “normal” camera. And it is such fun!

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

