Grasses – Cum Morthin

Please look at the picture full size against a grey background.

One the great strengths of Infra-red photography is a situation like this in north Wales where you have grasses that reflect IR  very well in a landscape with other features that do not reflect IR light as well as the grasses.

The infra-red effect can easily be overdone on a sunny day in a woodland. This picture was taken on a rainy day in April this year.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.
(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

9 responses to Grasses – Cum Morthin

  1. Stunning picture Andy.
    Can I ask you a question regarding your infra red shots.
    Do you use a filter on the camera or is this effect achieved in editing.
    I have just purchased a batch of infra red film so thats why I am curios.
    Dave

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Dave I use a converted digital camera that only sees IR. A filter is not required.

      Can I suggest a book by a friend of mine called the Infrared Photography by Hugh Milsom. This is quite an old book for IR film users but it is the most complete study on the subject written to date. Hopefully you will be able to find a copy. Andy

      Like

      • Andy, sorry I haven’t been back in touch sooner.
        To be honest I have been busy with a young boy taking his first steps in his new [and first] school.
        I really love Hugh’s work, do you think he would mind me getting in touch with him regarding a few things, one of them being his website design. I am trying to build my own site, for non Phoenix Park photography and I really like some of the features on his.
        Dave

        Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Infra Red has really punched out this image. The wide angle view view has also accentuated the foreground. A really well thought out image, Andy

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy Thanks for the comments. I have others from that very long walk that I feel are a lot strong visually but am finding it difficult to process the IR in a way that works when printed. I keep going back to the files but no real success yet. Andy

      Like

  3. Paula says:

    For me, a photo with depth and substance…: the grasses in the foreground and the brooding presence of the buildings made me think of things like: all good things come to an end, passing time, a feeling of loss and isolation.
    As always..I admire your seeing eye.

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

