The Style Trap

Please look at the picture full size against a grey background.

I am currently writing a new talk for the Royal Photographic Society on Digital Black and White Printing.

I began the talk by saying I started doing black and white photography way back in 1985 in the darkroom while Steve Sassoon was working on the first digital camera for Kodak in a laboratory somewhere in Rochester.

Twenty seven years is a long time to be working with the shades of grey from black to white. It’s easy to become successful and trapped in a style that you are associated with. For me that was very dark and moody prints with or without detail in the shadows.

To quote David Bailey recently he said that he tries to avoid a style and to try new things he hasn’t seen or done before.

Variations of my printing style have been high key and Lith work over the years.

I have been influenced by many photographers and printers along my photographic journey. This creative journey that has no destination or road map as a guide is the route to our highest potential.

“Man’s main task is to give birth to himself, to become what he potentially is.”
Erich Fromm, Psychologist.

This creative journey we all take part in as Photographers by necessity of moving forward must draw us to use our imaginations to try new styles and subject matter so we don’t get caught in the style trap.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

4 responses to The Style Trap

  1. LensScaper says:

    I always enjoy my visits to your blog, Andy. There’s always something that challenges my thinking. For me, retirement and the ‘carry-a-camera’ philosophy has been the biggest eye opener. My horizons and interests and images have expanded. If asked what my main style would be I would now have to say ‘Eclectic’ which is a clever word meaning I don’t have one at the moment. Am I bothered? No – I’m just having fun.

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

