Pre-visualisation – planning ahead

Please Like my Facebook fan page at www.facebook.com/AndyBeelFrps

Please look at the picture full size against a grey background.

As a sometime landscape photographer I really struggled to see a picture in the Ogwen Valley. Heresy I know but it happens.

Of the genres of photography I find landscape really difficult.

I am rereading a book by Alain Briot called “Mastering Landscape Photography” The Luminous Landscape Essays.

See www.luminous-landscape.com/index.shtml

In the introduction to the book he makes a very good point that we have all heard many times before but I fail to practice in the field.

In your mind’s eye imagine a framed exhibition quality print before you raise the camera to your eye.

The seeing process is a complex subject which he and I agree on

– you see something

– you see a photo opportunity. (At this point I quite often ask myself will I print it? if the answer is no ….)

– see a photograph that you have made (and not just taken) as a framed exhibition print. The pre-visualisation is the connection between taking and the making of a photograph. It is the planning ahead of the Post-processing stage for successful communication.

Depending on the subject matter, there may not be the time to ponder these types of question in the field.

As a sods law tale – I can remember seeing the picture – a Postman carrying a sack of mail off the of boat in a moody background of Lundy Island. By the time I had switched my pre-historic Dslr on and it was ready, the picture had gone. Aah the one that got away.

Another top tip – leave your camera switched on – it will reboot its self from a sleep mode much quicker than turning it on.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

3 responses to Pre-visualisation – planning ahead

  1. LensScaper says:

    An image whose scale is solely dependent on the lake (Llyn Ogwen I assume). I really like this: it makes you think, it raises questions and provides answers if you look hard enough. I assume that is ice in the foreground? Excellent writing too.

    Like

  2. Janice says:

    Very nice! I like the way you are led in a zig zag diagonally through the image.

    I don’t know why but it makes me think Lunar Landscape – perhaps I should take more water with it!

    Like

  3. “In your mind’s eye imagine a framed exhibition quality print before you raise the camera to your eye.” That’s a very valid point.

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

