Big Pit Scales

Please look at the picture full size against a grey background.

If you just click the like button without looking at the picture against a grey background you will see a very poor version of file.

Taken inside a corrugated iron shed at the Big Pit Museum in Blaenavon, South Wales.

12mm lens on a 5D Exposure f5.6 1/250 800 ISO.

The bottom of the original raw file is very much lighter than the Jpg shown here.

Conversions to sRGB (very small colour space) from Pro photo RGB (huge colour space)  aren’t always that great. Is this a general problem for everyone?

Dark pictures like this are best viewed against a black background.

If this gets printed I will printed I darken the original file, the bottom portion to where it was originally before I looked at it on Word Press.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little bog this week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

6 responses to Big Pit Scales

    • andybeel says:

      Hi David thanks for the comment, I really enjoy industrial photography but get few real opportunities. Andy

      Like

  1. Geo Parkin says:

    Thanks for the like earlier today, Andy. There’s some lovely, thoughtful work on your blog and I particularly like the threads of dialogue you get into with your fellow photographers. Some of these conversations remind me so much of the passionate exchanges I get into with other painters and illustrators – the different disciplines have more in common than we might realise. It’s all image-making, after all!

    Btw, the shot above reminds me of an old industrial photographer friend of mine from Yorkshire called Ian Beesley. Nice.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi George thanks for commenting. Yes, that post of comments was worth doing as it reminded me of stuff I was thinking about five years ago.

      I recently came across Ian Beesley he had an article in the RPS Journal. His B&W industrial photography is wonderful. Andy

      Like

  2. I really like the industrial roughness in this, and it is perfect in bw, lovely tones.
    Thanks a lot for stopping by my blog, and for your kind words about my work, most appreciated!
    Marie

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

