Not the f64 Group style

Please look at the picture full size against a grey background.

I was reminded of a quote by Edward Weston to Ansel Adams in 1932 “I would say to any artist – do not be repressed in your work, dare to experiment – consider any urge if in a new direction all the better, as a gift from the gods not to be lightly denied by convention or prior concepts”. Ansel Adams letters and images 1916 – 1984.

The f64 group was formed in the early 1930’s with the idea of straight photography principally by Ansel Adams, Edward Weston and Alfred Stieglitz as a reaction against pictorial-ism. I can hear all three of these great innovators in the field of photography spinning in their graves looking at my defocussed picture taken in 2006.

There is nothing new in photography. This picture takes me back 30 years to the 1980’s when people like Robert Farber were using Scotch 1000 ASA Slide Film with soft filters. He did a wonderful book in the said style called “By the Sea”.

The quote from Weston is fine but “prior concepts” is a difficult hurdle to jump. Something may be an old concept or done many times over by others but there are things that we are attracted to and resonate with us that we need to get out of our systems before moving on.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

7 responses to Not the f64 Group style

  1. andy says:

    While I quite like the image posted, I’ve never been a fan of using a technique for it’s own sake (not that I’m suggesting you have), something we see a lot of with HDR, for example. It’s one thing to experiment, but a different thing entirely to present something as a finished article using a half baked, badly applied technique and expect it to be considered artwork.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy As someone who produces quite a few pictures I rarely consider them to be finished or my final word on a subject. Andy

      Like

  2. Helen Cherry says:

    Always very interested in what your doing Andy since I discovered your site but I have enough trouble just taking pictures never mind HDR – I didn’t even know what it meant until I googled it.. I am an innocent abroad who photographs using her heart.. if you get my meaning.. trying all sorts as the mood takes me and based on learning as I go along.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Helen thanks for commenting. Just for the record this wasn’t done with HDR, I have no interest in that technique. Follow your heart put your seeing and creativity ahead of any technique. Learning photography is a journey with no end. Some-things work others don’t, learn and just move on. 🙂 Andy

      Like

  3. athyfoto says:

    I really like the work of both Ansel Adams, and Edward Weston. I get confused sometimes with the arguments about pictorial Vs straight record of a scene. The other day I was listening to a recording of AA in conversation when he said . .

    “If I feel something strongly I will make a photograph that would be the equivalent of what I saw and felt . . . When I’m ready to make a photograph I think I quite obviously see in my minds eye something that is not literally there in the true meaning of the word. Im interested in expressing something which is built up from within rather that just extracted from without.”

    It doesn’t quite chime (for me) with the ethos of the f64 group.

    My brain is hurting now!?

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank thanks for commenting. I tend to see the problem here. This is a very blurry in line in the sand on a windy day. Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

