Picasso play time

Please look at the picture full size against a grey background.

Think of play in photography as a means of experimentation and interpretation. Who was it who said “I am always doing what I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it” (Pablo Picasso).

Here we are (Peter, Jeff and me) in sunny? south Wales at Penarth by the Pier waiting for the rain to stop.This shot was the first of many taken through a rain-soaked car windscreen at f8. For more abstract results like this try using the widest aperture you’re telephoto lens has with the auto focus turned off and manual focus to get an individual interpretation. Try playing instead of recording descriptive reality with your photography for a change!

The plea about a grey background seems to go largely unheeded judging by the number of likes registered without visiting the post. The point of looking at the picture against a grey background is that detail in the shadows is lost due to the glare of the white background in the normal view.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

16 responses to Picasso play time

  1. Nice. When it’s chucking it down what else can you do.

    On your point about grey background, I have to agree with you. Our local camera club, prompted by the YPU now try their best to dissuade people from putting wide white borders on their projected images for the very reason you point out. I’ve chose a black border in preference to a white one for that very reason (I don’t think I have the option of grey, though I’ve chosen that the edges of the browser window)

    As an aside, I took the rain thing a little further, experimenting in my back garden following some shots I took through my car window. here

    Like

  2. athyfoto says:

    “Try playing instead of recording descriptive reality with your photography for a change!”

    Here here!

    Your experimentation, in my opinion, has produced a terrific result!

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank thanks for you kind words. Not really an experiment for me I have done this technique many times before, but this time the distortion worked really well. Andy

      Like

  3. andy says:

    Given the terrible British summer we’ve had to date, I’d have said that this image should be given a ‘documentary’ tag! To an extent it does capture photographic reality, although I understand that the technique used and the effect created is more of an interpretation/ abstract based on the theme of the British Summer. Soggy fish and chips anyone?

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy thanks for commenting. As you have seen a lot of my photography is not about recording the fine detail but the mood and feeling. Andy

      Like

  4. Well, Andy, now I think I can understand what you meant about my image.
    I’m very attracted by this kind of images, maybe it’s me…
    In this moment…
    Well done.

    Like

  5. treborhopps says:

    The photo is interesting when seen as the smaller image in the body of the blog compared to full size (screen permitting) as the first is more impressionistic, the second more abstract. Nice work

    Like

  6. alanrossiter says:

    Nice. An image taken like this and not manipulated afterwards to make it look like this only displays a confidence in your art. I am impressed.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Alan thanks. I do as much as I can in camera Photoshop filters mostly look contrived to me. Andy

      Like

  7. Janice says:

    Very nice Andy, I like the idea of being a bit abstract, although when you really look at the composition everything is perfectly placed – rule of thirds etc!
    I love playing around to create “different” images but you have to be prepared – judges don’t always get them! 😦
    Maybe the rain has stopped at last so we may not get a chance to experiment.
    Before seeing your image, I did manage to play around with a couple of images taken at Wisley Gardens in the rain, looking into the alpine house with rain on the windows which created quite a nice effect.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Janice thanks for commenting. Re judges and competitions – ask yourself who and what your photography is for. That will give you a clue about the relevance of competitions and making pictures in an accepted style to the detriment of your highest individual potential. Hopes this helps. Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

