I never know when to finish my photo editing 2

Please look at the picture full size against a grey background.

Below are the comments generated by fellow Bloggers from the post I did recently called “I never know when to finish my photo editing”. I have put all their comments on the subject of photo editing in to this post so the knowledge and wisdom may be shared.

I have added any more comments of mine in Blue.

a – The post was re-blogged by Aseem Achintya which I take as a compliment. Thank you.

b- sinithwar said – “This just looks like a re-blog from earlier in yer blogs man”. Yes I freely admit that I have previously posted on this subject. How does the old expression go “there is nothing new in photography”.

c- Irfan Hussain said “Every image I produce goes through some editing process. And I have a blast doing it. This is one question that hits me often. It’s not that I feel it’s incomplete. It’s because most of the times I feel I can make it still better. I normally end up screwing the image. Then I restore it back to the point where I felt “I can make it still better”. However sometimes it actually turns out better”. I certainly recognise the flow of going backwards to a former state before moving forward. The important point here is that you have a vision of what the highest potential for the picture could be. “Without a vision the people … perish”

d- athyfoto “Interesting you mention AA (Ansel Adams) in the post since the question would have amused him I think”. I have just been reading AA’s letters from the late 1920’s & 30’s to friends like Edward Weston and Alfred Stieglitz. He was a complete control freak who tested everything to the nth degree in his pursuit of perfection. He was one who as Ralph Waldo Emerson expressed it “Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail”

e – Stephen G. Hipperson ” The real problem in presenting images is the control of the final display, and to a certain extent, apart from composition, tonal qualities, greys, etc. are a punt into no man’s land. With prints, it relies on the quality of the viewing light and for web/monitor work it relies on equality of calibration between monitors/projectors. I see much work here, where the images seem under exposed or over exposed, too saturated or under saturated but I also suspect some may feel the same about my images too – I can look at my images in different browsers and they look substantially different from one another”. I completely agree with the comments made and I have the same concerns about how other people see my pictures on their monitors. I work with two PC’s and there are differences in brightness and contrast of the same file on the same monitor. As a Lecturer I show prints under vast different lighting condition from very good to extremely poor which also concerns me.

f – Tracie Louise “It’s all completely subjective and a matter of personal taste. There is no right way or wrong way in art”. I agree that art is totally subjective. Each person is born with a creative ability that should be nourished to enable the individual to reach their highest potential.

g – gamaraca “Thanks for the post Andy!” See how your simple question has grown to a much wider audience and the sharing of thoughts and experience. Thanks for asking the initial question.

h – unsouthernbelle “Love the depth and tones of the black and white”. Thanks for the kind words. Part of the editing processes is deciding the appropriate tonality for the picture in question to expressively reflect the scene as taken and felt.

j – Martina Cross “Same here, I never know when to finish either… but I stop when I have the feeling enough is enough”. As you say it’s a feeling. For me feelings are guided by the spirit or vision of the photographer, and the inspiration they bring to the picture. The root of the word inspire is the Latin Inspirare meaning to breathe (life in to). Hence when I look for inspiration I look for those photographers and photographs who add life and vitality to what I am doing. To quote Leonardo Da Vinci “Where the spirit does not work with the hand, there is no art”

k – photosclosetohome “One tip I received is that when you think you’re finished, go back and remove the last edit. I’ve also noticed the when I revisit old images, my re-edits are much different from the original edit. AA noted the same thing with his Moonrise photograph. Over the years the sky got darker”. A photograph in my view should be seen as a living document i.e. one that is not set in stone. Our preferences and tastes change over time as we learn, grow and mature. Editing technology changes and with it the ability to render files in a different or more complete way to the original intention is made possible.

Sorry its been a very long post but hopefully you have found the joint wisdom here informative and helpful.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog in the last week.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

5 responses to I never know when to finish my photo editing 2

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Peter Alas I am the only one I know of doing this sort of feedback. I agree the debate needs to be taken to a much deeper level. Thanks for commenting. Andy

      Like

  1. photosclosetohome says:

    Like the way you recapped all the responses, then added commentary. An informative post.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Ben thanks for the kind comment, I’m glad you found it useful. It was helpful to me to recap a lot of the things I was thinking through a few years ago. Andy

      Like

  2. Helen Cherry says:

    Very interesting post.. I have found that I prefer less rather than more processing a light touch works better for me mostly.. It is such a matter of individual taste though as some people seem to prefer a highly styalised picture whereas I generally don’t..

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

