The Barbers Booth – Ethiopia

Please look at the picture full size against a grey background.

I was reminded of this picture called “Barbers Booth – Ethiopia” for three reasons. Firstly Lesley down in sunny? Cornwall has been to the Hairdressers for her bi-yearly visit. Secondly I have a follower in Ethiopia. Thirdly there is a strong tradition in photography of taking pictures of Barbers and Hairdressers shops, such as Walker Evans “Interior, Barber Shop, Havana, Cuba 1933. See en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walker_Evans 

I have come to the conclusion I have too many books. I was looking for the only copy of my own book called “The Land of Burnt Faces” (the meaning of Ethiopia in Greek). It was a test book I printed through Blurb a few years ago to see what my pictures would look like printed by somebody else. I wanted to check and see if this picture is in it. The original intention was to print a monograph from the pictures I made from my two trips to northern Ethiopia in 2006 and 2008.

The irritating thing is I only looked at this book only last week, as I am thinking of doing another self-published book.

I have checked in the Blurb shop my little book has been remaindered (dropped), well it was only one copy five years ago.

Perhaps I need a better system of cataloguing my books other than by size that will fit within the depth of the shelf.

A note about the picture – this is an unposed picture. I know many highly eminent photographers who pose their environmental portraiture.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog.

My little blog is one year old this week, reaching just over 50% of the world countries.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

8 responses to The Barbers Booth – Ethiopia

  1. Jack Brewis says:

    Andy, your work is stunning and I am always excited when a notification pops up on my phone. This is outstanding.

    Like

  2. gamaraca says:

    Congrats on almost 1 year! The little boy stands out to me with his perfect skin and sweet smile!

    Like

  3. John Long says:

    Andy – I feel it’s just too dark on the left and has lost detail. You obviously know what it was like, but for the newcomer to the piece, it’s very indistinct.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi John you are probably aware that this is quite an old picture, that has been worked on since CS2! Just before I uploaded it I slighty darken the LHS to move the emphasis to the child. As I have a mounted A2 print of the original of this it won’t be printed again. Andy

      Like

  4. Paula says:

    Hi Andy, I always love all your ideas and photos and this one is no exception but…!, never having seen this shot before, I just about against my will look exclusively at the little boy on the right. If that is what you want me to do , fine, if not it probably means that the other side of photo is too dark.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Paula this picture was in the talk I gave at NA as an A2 print. Pls see the reply I gave John Long above. Thanks. Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

