After Mr WE Smith

Please look at the picture full size on a grey background.

I just love this type of moody industrial shot. It very much reminds me of one of my absolute photographic hero’s W Eugene Smith’s work about the steelworks in Pittsburgh. See Smith’s utterly fantastic book Dream Street W Eugene Smith’s Pittsburgh Project on Amazon.com for $250, I’m glad my copy didn’t cost that.

A word about this picture taken in Iceland – the Keflavic Steam Plant. The camera was a Panasonic G2 effectively at 800 ISO due to the 400mm lens and under exposure to control the contrast, which is very noisy. Hence the need to cover the noise with film Grain put in with Silver Efex Pro 2. Fortunately grain goes very well with this style of picture.

Today I have selecting what I consider to be my best work from my current talk called “The Untitled Monochrome Talk” given to Camera Clubs and Photographic Societies in jolly old Blighty.

The reason for this choice of prints is my sponsors www.fotospeed.com are producing a travelling portfolio of all the Fotospeed Photographers current work that is available to Clubs and Societies.

From September Clubs and societies will be able to book a free Print lecture *(+ courier costs) with a recorded commentary by Margaret Salisbury FRPS that has prints from all the 26 Fotospeed Photographers.

Hello to all the new followers of my little blog via WordPress, Facebook and Twitter.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

6 responses to After Mr WE Smith

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Irfan Thanks for the kind comment. Yes the grain was very intentional as I said in the text. Andy

      Like

  1. Jack Brewis says:

    Andy, this is so beautiful, and full of soul and wonderfulness. Moody and unforgiving.

    Like

  2. andy says:

    Nice, just my kind of image, all industrial and grimy. Although I’m aware of Eugene Smith, I wasn’t familiar with the Pittsburgh Project. This will shortly be rectified as fortunately copies of the book in the UK can be had for £15

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

