Where halos come from

Please look at the picture full size on a grey background.

I was chatting with a friend about Lr4 and the myth that halos had been eradicated.

So I thought other people might like to be aware of all the controls that can provide an unwanted halos at an edge with greatly differing tonal values. This is largely a problem for black & white users of Lr. Colour photographers generally do not require the same high contrast as the senior service.

The over enthusiastic use of the following controls can give halos

  • Clarity
  • Colour mix
  • Over sharpening
  • Adjustment Brush Auto mask
  • Plugins – Silver Efex Pro 2
  • A combination of all of theme

So these are the places to look and retrace your steps.

The picture above “Deserted Farm Wales” IR capture, Gold and Sepia split toning.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog.

(C) Andy Beel FRPS

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

10 responses to Where halos come from

  1. ed severinghaus says:

    With your using IR for the capture, I can’t tell if there is snow on the ground or not. If not, why are you using bluish tones? Seems inappropriate if the scene is summery.
    Ed

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Ed thanks for the comment. For me black and white is a medium of abstraction and extension without the need to replicate the tonality or tone of scene in nature. You pays your money and makes your choice. Just to confuse you a little more these where taken in October and no snow. Andy

      Like

  2. athyfoto says:

    Hi Andy,
    Please put me out of my misery and tell me where Adobe have said they have eradicated haloing. Try as I might I can only find claims that LR4 has . . improved it . . reduced the problem . . and the like.

    I can mess up ANY image in LR4 and PS5 too, just give me 30 seconds and I would disprove the claim πŸ™‚

    But seriously, In my view, and that’s the key, I find LR4 a much better tool then LR3 was/is. The Clarity slider, for me, helps greatly to improve mid-tone contrast, but push it too far and OHHH!

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank I was heavily paraphrasing Julianne Kost the Photoshop evangelist in a Lr4 beta video on YouTube. Perhaps I over did it a little, my apologies for your misery. Hear hear to all you say about Lr4. Regards Andy

      Like

  3. A.Barlow says:

    First off, sweet shot.

    And yeah, you’re right. I did a few tests with it to see how much it was improved. Vastly IMO, but it’s not perfect that’s for sure. I don’t think we cn expect it to be for a while now, but this is much better than what LR3 had, especially in the clarity slider!

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

