Stourhead

Just another example of my style of split toning Sepia in the Shadows and Gold  in the Highlights.

Sepia is giving the Chocolate shadows and the Gold (Gold toner in the dark room gave a fugitive duck egg blue) in the Highlights. Note the lack of deep saturation for both tones, the shadow tones is about 25% of the density of the highlights.

This picture started out life as an IR capture a few years ago in Stourhead Gardens Wiltshire.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

9 responses to Stourhead

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Distan thanks for the appreciation. For me the cool blue could have been a little more vibrant but to do that I would have needed to go in to CS4 with control over the Hue, Saturation & Brightness that Lr4 can’tdo but it was late. Regards Andy

      Like

  1. Great little note on split-tone imaging … and a beautiful composition … Miss my D22 days … well, okay … sometimes … lol! I have never liked the pure gray-scale created by photo-editing software (or even in camera when shooting monochrome) … simply because B&W prints never were, strictly speaking, gray-scale/b&w … my journey to recreating the look of my prints of old was at first to use the converter and adding a photo filter (within PS5) … but that was never quite good enough … now, since I use Bridge to digest my incoming work, when I am seeking to create monochromatic images, I will convert to gray-scale (if not shooting monochrome), adjust the background color mix, contrast and clarity, but, most importantly, I will adjust the hue of highlights and shadows until I get the “sheen” reminiscent of the print making process, when paper and chemicals were not always in perfect sink …

    Like

  2. gamaraca says:

    This is absolutely beautiful and I appreciate the lack of deep saturation, which I have a heavy hand for at times.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Gabby thanks for dropping by and leaving a kind comment. We can all go to mad with the saturation control at times. Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

