To suggest is to create…

Please look at the picture full size.

I have always been interested in the idea that

“To define is to destroy, to suggest is create”.
Stephane Mallarme

See the page on Wikipedia about this French Poet and Critic.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St%C3%A9phane_Mallarm%C3%A9

This picture “Self Portrait – Centrespace Gallery” for me is about the implied or suggested link between the face in the bottom LHS and the out of pictures in frames on the opposite wall. This link is heighten by the diagonal line of out of focus Thumbnail pictures. The idea I wanted to create was that the person behind the face is a photographer. The out of focus pictures frames are being used as a metaphor for all photographs in general.

The choice of lens, aperture and focusing distance in this picture was critical to the depth of field. In this case it was a 20mm f1.8 at f1.8 focused to the minimum distance. If I had used the same lens but say with f22 the pictures at the back would be sharp implying that I had taken them which I did not.

Very often Wide-angle lenses are used to create depth of field from back to front particularly in Landscape photography. I wanted use the properties of a fast wide-angle lens for creative purposes.

Why not think about the potential creative possibilities of lenses and widest apertures before you buy them? When buying this prime lens I had a choice of the Canon 20mm f2.8 or the Sigma 20mm f1.8. I choose the one and a third stops less depth of field with Sigma. Cost was not an issue.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little Blog.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

4 responses to To suggest is to create…

  1. A.Barlow says:

    And this is exactly why I love my 50mm and my macro for their super narrow DOF. What you don’t focus on is just as important as what you do.

    Like

  2. athyfoto says:

    Great post Andy,

    The picture more or less represents the human view of the scene. That is to say if you hold up your hand about 12 inches in front of you and focus your eyes on the palm, is there anything else in the peripheral view that is in focus? We are so used to having our brain fill in all the details that all we need are suggestions of things to understand and interpret a scene.

    Having said all that I have a 30 ish year old Nikkor 50mm f1.8 prime and the DOF is ridiculously shallow and I need all the help my brain can offer to interpret some of the shots I end up with 🙂 I blame it on the old eye sight, manual focus with no visual aid in the viewfinder is a real problem these days!

    Frank

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank thanks for your comments, we like suggestions. Yes we are all getting to rely on AF more and more. I have been thinking about a 50mm f1.4 for ages but its just something else to carry about! Regards Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

