Gullfoss – Iceland

This is a repost of the first picture I put on WordPress last July that very few people saw as it was probably uncategorized.

This is a picture of Gullfoss waterfall in Iceland I like over others that I have done and have not seen what qualities lies within. I think what I am really saying is we don’t always select the most obviously good from our own work, it takes another eye to select the obvious standout pictures. For me I make piles of prints and generally I value them all roughly the same. I need somebody else to select the best work. But the paradox is two people never agree what is the best work.

If you want to see other Iceland pictures in this style go to Josef Hoflehner and Michael Kenna’s websites. Links are in my blogroll.

A big thank you for the encouragement, comments and 10,000 + hits I have received from people around the world in over 60 countries. For me a WordPress blog is far superior to Facebook and Flickr put together as I have made friends in a meaningful way from all around the world.

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

25 responses to Gullfoss – Iceland

  1. andy says:

    That’s an interesting interpretation of the scene. The blackness of the rocks acts almost as a giant vignette focussing your attention onto the texture of the water and rising spray.

    Like

  2. Gaz says:

    starting to agree with you there about blogs better than facebook etc I just need to take more photos.

    Amazing picture and love the tones

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Gaz thanks for leaving a comment. We alll need to to take more pictures with better editting of the good and not so good. Andy

      Like

  3. LensScaper says:

    I say ‘Amen’ to everything in this post. Starting a PhotoBlog last Autumn was one of the smartest things I’ve done in photography. I too struggle with objectivity over my work (I think that’s the kernel of what you say). I feel I should have mastered that capability after over 40years of image-making! For me I think that difficulty is associated with a personal attachment with images that I produce. It seems to be easier to ‘judge’ my work 2-3years later!
    That is a superb image by the way, Andy

    Like

  4. Congratulations on reaching 10,000 views . great idea to repost your own favourites from early on. This is a great pic and I love images I have seen from Iceland. I still like Flikr I agree with you that a a few more words can make the difference.

    Like

  5. “we don’t always select the most obviously good from our own work, it takes another eye to select the obvious standout pictures”. I absolutely agree Andy with this statement we have a personal attachment to our photographs and can often be our own worst enemy/critic. The image is very powerful.

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

