Pont Y Pandy Slate Mill

Pont Y Pandy Slate Mill is somewhere that I had been wanting to photograph but I had no idea where it was apart from in Snowdonia. I had seen pictures of in the National Trust Magazine taken from a similar angle to mine.

I have had the idea of doing a talk on digital Infrared photography for a while but thought that I did not have enough pictures. So I have been using my infrared converted body more recently.

I love the other worldly nature and look of IR photography. This picture uses another of my favourite techniques – a wide-angle lens from a low viewpoint. Why are the vast majority of pictures taken from 5′ 6″ from the ground? In this case I used a 10-22mm Canon EF-s Lens, which in the real world of 35mm terms is 16-35mm.

When will camera manufactures stop trying to confuse us with focal lengths of lenses that require a conversion factor due to size of the sensor? There would no confusion if all focal lengths were described in 35mm terms. And will I am on my hobby-horse, why can’t the size of sensors be described in millimetres and not parts of an inch? Who can work that one out?

Black and white photography is all about contrast. IR is good for putting contrast in to cloudy skies and green foliage or any thing else that reflects Infrared light. It’s a challenge to get good contrast in slate slag that does not reflect infrared light.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS 2012

http://www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

14 responses to Pont Y Pandy Slate Mill

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank thanks for the plug. A good thing about the blogoshpere is that can remind or inspire you in to overcoming difficulties. Adrian Lewis aka FATman http://eccentric99.wordpress.com sometimes uses very coarse grain, an idea that I have borrowed from him. Thanks for commenting. Andy

      Like

  1. doephotog says:

    The tones and darkness to yoru mono images is very striking to me. This is another fine example. Nice work!

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    Cracking shot with just the viewpoint this building deserves. I entirely agree with your grouse about focal length descriptions. It is designed to confuse and I was never too good at my 1.5 times table!. IR photography has suited this image very well – at first glance it looks like snow (of course), which wouldn’t have surprised me for Snowdonia in April. I once went round the Snowdon Horseshoe in thick snow in late May – a bit tricky!

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy thanks for the plug of my little blog. You did a great article, must have taken you ages to write it? Thanks for your kind words. Yes there was snow in Snowdonia in April. Andy

      Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Gabby thanks for your kind words of appreciation. I did a shot of the same Mill from a different direction but added very coarse film grain this afternoon, I wonder what the reaction will be? Andy

      Like

  3. Jack Brewis says:

    So beautiful Andy, wow, a fabulous shot. That sky flips me out. This is really a very beautiful photo, Sir.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Jack Thanks for the appreciation. I will be interested in your reaction to the very wide-angle shots I plan to post with very limited dof. They need a bit of tweaking before I post them and Lr3 has stopped working for some reason. Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

Pingbacks & Trackbacks