Biker Dave and Cheaper Battery Grips

We were walking along Bexhill Prom and I was approached by Dave (pictured right) who saw my digital camera and he asked me a very pertinent question “What happens when the batteries run out?” to which I glibly replied “you throw the camera away”.

Dave very proudly and superiorly told me about his old Zenith B film camera he was wearing around his neck that didn’t need batteries. We did a little picture shoot, we took each others picture. Whether or not he had any film in the Zenith I don’t know. Any way the event drew a little crowd. He was very proud of his bike and a half full bottle Lambs Navy Rum at 10.30 in the morning.

The issue that Dave raised about batteries is opportune. With Canon I use a Battery Grip on all my bodies which holds two batteries and will easy do three days of full on picture without needing a recharge. Canon also supply an adaptor to go inside the battery grip that takes six AA batteries that are available anywhere.  My sponsors fotospeed.com used to sell Hahnel battery grips for Canon and Nikon DSLR’s at about half the price of the respective manufacturer products. Having checked the Fotospeed Product Guide and Website I don’t think they still sell them.

But cheaper alternative Battery Grips are out there see http://www.picstop.co.uk/batteries/battery-grips if you were thinking of buying one. Now for the reality check – battery Grips are great but be aware of the additional bulk and weight they bring to your camera bag and your back or shoulders.

One of the biggest uses of camera battery power is the LCD screen on the back of the camera. To conserve the battery, make sure the LCD is switched off when you do not need it.

A free top tip for all street photographers leave the camera switched on with the LCD off, when the camera gets bored and tired it will go to sleep. When you see a picture, it will respond a lot quicker that going thought the boot up process.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog, why not drop by and leave a comment.

(C) Andy Beel FRPS

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

7 responses to Biker Dave and Cheaper Battery Grips

  1. Lesley says:

    Oh my first SLR was a Zenith E way way back in the 70’s, fond memories that wonderful little integrated exposure dial you had to line up! How times have changed in my lifetime already. Hmmmm, just got my big girls DSLR Canon 5D2 and contemplating the GRIP, food for thought, love a grip but the weight is indeed an issue and draws more attention to oneself but It does balance the body so well, what to do?

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Lesley I think my brother had a Zenith as a teenager. I think my first film camera was a Practica back in the early 80’s? With big camera bodies people think you are a paporazzi? and therefore a preditor. Why won’t someone offer the market a camera with a small body and small lens with a full size sensor that’s not a stupid unrealistic price? Here’s hoping. Thanks for commenting. Andy

      Like

  2. Paula says:

    What an amusing story and photo. I am impressed by your presence of mind to have the right reply!

    Like

  3. One of the things I like about my older cameras is the fact that they don’t live and die based on the batteries, and except for slide film, it’s not hard to dial in a usable exposure using sunny 16 (or the exposure meter app on my iPhone :-))

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

