The Ramp 2

I must thank Aaron one of the followers of my little blog for pointing out the picture would be stronger with a single point of interest.

There are those who dismiss the view that two dominate points in a picture is to be avoided. For years I have been doing one, three or five points. But recently I have tried two and always feel lightly uncomfortable as the eye bounces between the two points.

A single figure was my original vision for the picture at the taking stage. But I was side tracked by the bicyclist that seemed like manna from heaven as I was kneeling down to take the picture.

You may also notice that I have taken out the row of bright lights on the wall.

I could have printed the black with detail, do you think this would have made the picture stronger? I tend to feel it panders to the process mongers who have little to say about creativity and vision.

Let me know which one of the two variations you prefer.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

13 responses to The Ramp 2

  1. LensScaper says:

    I think the first image is the stronger of the two. I don’t consider the cyclist as a ‘point of interest’ but predominantly as a shadow area that helps to hold the image in on the Rt side – that may be an old-fashioned concept, but it still has it’s place in the context of composition. And actually I quite liked the line of lights (I had never thought about what they were) – to me they were a repetitive motif that added substance to the wall. While today’s image is simplified I find the elements that have been removed rounded out the image and made it more compelling.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy thanks for commenting. Your last sentance makes real sense to me. in an attempt to simplfy pictures its easy to go to far and sterilise them. Andy

      Like

  2. kjb404 says:

    I prefer the first image with the bicycle and the lights. Just seems more coherent and satisfying and spontaneous. The second one feels like there’s something missing and like it’s more processed.

    Like

  3. annerose says:

    I like the first one better too!
    Second one seems too slick, like an ad.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi thanks for commenting everybody else came to the same conclusion but expressed it in diffferent words. Andy

      Like

  4. John.L. says:

    Back to No.1 for me – I thought just the suggestion of the cyclist added more mystery to the image

    Like

  5. Paula says:

    Please give me the biker back! He adds more mystery to the whole and is slightly against the rules…must be applauded but not for the sake of it.
    I realise that ,had I not seen the first image I would have liked this one just as much, but …

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

