The Ramp

Every now and again the gods of photography smile on you.  This shot called “The Ramp” was taken at a third time of thinking about this location yesterday morning in Bexhill on Sea. The first time I saw the ramp all I could see was the Lampposts and so we walked on.

After a slow wander along Bexhill sea front were I got other pictures that will be appearing on my blog we started to walk back home. I then started to think about the railway station pedestrian ramp again and as it was not on our route home I dismissed the idea. But there was still a little niggle in the back of my mind there was a potential picture there. So I made an executive decision and went back to the station with David Mills ARPS my excellent friend and host.

This time I realised that if I bent down with the 20mm lens I could eliminate the distracting lampposts. I asked David to walk up the ramp to create some human interest and a dark figure in the distance. As luck would have it a man on a bike came down the ramp at exactly the right time. The 20mm lens was wide open at f1.8 even with that aperture and focusing on the foreground David is still quite defined. I would have prefered him to be more of a blur.

Post – production crop to square to increase the strength of the diagonal composition, 1600 ASA film grain and a Red Filter to darken the blue sky were added with Silver Efex Pro 2 via Photoshop. This is probably my favourite print of the year so far.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

14 responses to The Ramp

  1. gamaraca says:

    Lovely shot, love the human element without them being the focus, but just life happening!

    Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    That’s superb. I agree – it’s my favourite of the year too. The composition is strong, what a bonus to have that cyclist disappearing Rt. I am thinking Bill Brandt…. You will know what I am alluding to.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy you will see that I have posted a different version without the bike – what do you think? Andy

      Like

  3. doephotog says:

    Really like this shot. The guy standing at the end makes it mysterious looking. Personally I may have cropped out the bike as I found myself bouncing around between it and the shadowy figure. Still though, awesome shot man, grats!

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Aaron you’re advice paid off as I think the second version without the bike is stronger as predicted – thanks. Andy

      Like

  4. athyfoto says:

    This is a great composition with powerful graphic elements. It would certainly grab my attention if I were shuffling along a gallery wall (as you do) and came across this.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank if you come to the Mono-ist exhibition at the Bristol Festival of Photography in May you might see this up to 48″ Square! Andy

      Like

  5. Terrific image Andy. Love the balance of the figure top left and the hard architecture of the ramp and the back wheel of the bike. Even the strong shadow line adds strength almost like it is dividing the line for the cyclist to use.

    Like

  6. Paula says:

    Wow, The gods were beaming down on you with love in their hearts.
    The man on the bike was personification of that said emotion.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Paula – looking back on it now the stronger picture is the one just posted The ramp 2 without the bike. What do you think? Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

