Bend in the road

With this picture “Bend in the road” it would be easy and unsubtle to make it very high contrast.

The tonality of a picture has been likened to major and minor keys / scales in music. Each key can also be further sub-divided in to high, intermediate and low contrast.

This picture is in a low minor key.

For me the joy of this picture is in the dislocation of the bending road, hopefully the viewer joins up the line of light in the top right hand side with the rest of the road. It also alludes to that period of cross-over lighting between day and night.

When making this picture taken in the afternoon I had to choose the point at which I felt it was too dark.

Thankyou to all the followers of my blog who write encouraging comments or ask questions. I answer all comments posted. Quite often a question is asked and the response may make interesting reading for the followers of the blog. So it may be interesting for you to scan through the comments.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog, why not leave a comment you might enjoy it.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

4 responses to Bend in the road

  1. Jack Brewis says:

    I am not sure what I like about this more. Ultimately (as always) a beautiful shot, but there is something so alluring about this one. I think it is as follows a) the little stretch of illuminated road at the top and b) the headlights in the front for sure, but my favourite is that section of shadow in front of the bus! Gorgeous Andy, thanks for this one. Makes me want to drive a hard road until I find a diner in the sticks somewhere; Rachmaninoff’s Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14 soothing the trip in serenity. A lovely photo.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Jack this was taken in Iceland last year. I have the full S bend of the road on the file but thought it more intereting for the viewer to join up the dots so to speak. Thanks as always for the constant stream of appreciation. Andy

      Like

  2. Paula says:

    Low Minor…appeals to all emotional folk. It tells me that not only are you a rebel at heart, you are also deeply romantic in the true sense of the word.

    Your photos indeed seem to reveal a lot about you and are not hidden behind layers of emotional veneer as most of us are in everyday life.

    Wishing I could be as clear and dance to the same tune

    In admiration as always

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Paula you know me too well, guilty as charged. My pictures do tend to get a marmite reaction, love or hate. My problem generally is that I have no idea what will get what reaction.

      Your little project should be in a low minor key may be. If you want some more info about this I can help, email me.
      Best regards
      Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

