Late again

One from the archive taken in New Brunswick in 2009.

“Late again” was an evening shot, I did a few differing versions of the shot but prefered this cool tone version.

Technical – 12mm lens Full Frame.

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

13 responses to Late again

  1. Paula says:

    How do you do it, Andy..your photo made me smile! I like it. That is to say, I like smiling and I like the photo.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy I have always been a sucker for the strong obvious composition with a wide angle lens. Thanks for commenting. Andy

      Like

  2. I truly adore this one Andy.
    I would say it would look absolutely awesome blown up really really big.
    I just love the grain effect in it.
    Reminds me of the days when I used to shoot everything on 1600 or 3200 film just for that effect.
    Dave

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Dave thanks for the comment. I think I used TMZ 3200 ASA grain. It was a film that I loved and used a lot of in my film days. You have given me an idea – I am preparing for an exhibtion in May, I am going to do some very graphic Brandt type pictures with gallons of sold black ink. I haven’t decided exactly what will be in that panel but have a few in mind. This picture might fit.I thought I had blogged a silmiar picture a while ago but having checked I don’t think I did. I am intrigued to see what this will look like blown up to A2 without the cool tone. I will need to check the original file as it may be a small JPEG as I just messing around and didn’t save as a full size raw file. I have checked and I can print it at A2 at 120dpi. So lets what it looks like. Thanks for the idea. Andy

      Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Dave thanks for the idea to print it big I have done to A2. I like the stong graphic style and I am sure I will use the print somewhere in the May Exhibtion. Andy

      Like

      • I am so thrilled to hear that Andy.
        I would absolutely love to see what it looks like blown up big, sometimes computer screens just don’t do justice to photographs.
        I am about to launch an exhibition next week and I have blown up my photos to about 20 x 20 inches. It’s the first time in ages that I have been able to step back from my work and think “Yes I am a good photographer”, I am sure like me you probably question your own talents from time to time. I just hope everybody else feels the same way about the photos as I do.
        Love reading your blog by the way, it’s always a great source of inspiration.
        Dave

        Like

        • andybeel says:

          Hi Dave best of luck with your exhibition I hope you get the recogition and sales you deserve.

          I have always said that artists including photographers need the oxygen of praise and recognition. Thats why I formed a small group called the Mono-ists to get feed back from photographers who’s opinion I trust and respect. And yes I constantly doubt my own ability. The hardest part I find is recognising the best and strongest pictures of my own. That’s why it helps to have a small group of liked minded experienced people. We are all to close to our own work to make value judgements.

          Thank you for your kind words of encouragement regarding the blog. If I can help people to think about what they do in a different way or spur them in trying something new then that is gratifying.
          Regards Andy

          Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

