Picture – six years in the making

It’s funny how you don’t recognise your own pictures for what they are. This picture “Coffee Stop” is an example in point. I took this shot by mistake in May 2006 with a Sigma 12-24mm wide angle zoom.The mistake was to not fully remove the lens cap from the ultra wide angle lens. I had only bought the lens five minutes before and took a series of pictures of Baldwin St in Bristol. Metadata records I took more pictures with this lens than any other in 2006.

The pictures sat on an external hard drive for about four years doing nothing. Then I rediscovered them and I did a few colour prints that got as far as the big rejected pile. The prints stayed there in the rejected pile for a couple of years.

I looked at the colour prints last week and wondered what they might look like as Lith Prints? I print one and showed it to friends yesterday who liked it, said its a Salon type picture, very modern and now (well 2006 actually).

So what does the blogosphere think as opposed to three or four Fellows of the Royal Photographic Society?

A big hello to all the new and old followers of my little blog.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

13 responses to Picture – six years in the making

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Frank – it comes in two parts a large sleeve that goes over the front of the lens barrel and a 77mm standard lens cap that fits in to the sleeve. I took the smaller cap off without removing the sleeve. Andy

      Like

  1. Russ says:

    works for me, but the top of her head being missing is bugging me a bit. Nice to know how the lens performs with the cap left on as i have just aquired one.

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Russ thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. I have never been worried about the tops of heads being missing, many years ago I did it deliberately in the studio. I think these street shots were taken from the hip so I would had no idea what was or was not included as the button was pressed. Andy

      Like

  2. LensScaper says:

    The vignetting effect works very well and I like the angled view. A strong figure, But I have to agree with Russ, the fact that the top of the head is lost off the top is a significant loss. Sorry! But maybe I’m being too pedantic!

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Andy see the reply I made to Russ. For me the loss of the top of the head adds tension and strength. Its good that we all see things differently. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. Andy

      Like

  3. Paula says:

    Interesting to read the comments , having see the photo in the flesh, so to speak
    I still like everything about it but can only say that this tiny digital version has nothing like the impact the print has.
    In spite of that, it has sparked of a ‘lively’ debate already on your blog and that must be a good thing.
    And re; your starting comment: yes…I never know in my ltd experience what my picture might mean and that is why feedback from those whose opinion one respects, is so valuable. I feel I have learned, grown and developed a lot from attending our little Sunday Group.

    Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

