Dyslexics of the world unite

I am dyslexic particularly when typing. I’m great at reading but pushing buttons to make thought public can be a bit tricky. Dyslexia comes from the Greek language meaning ‘difficulty with words’. It’s a symptom of a number of different information processing disorders in the brain.

I was just re-reading the former post called “Bin bags & Baguettes” and I noticed words missing and spelling mistakes. As with all posts they are proof read usually about six times (not an exaggeration) to check all is in order. I just don’t always see the obvious errors.

I didn’t realise I am dyslexic until I was well in to my forties, I just thought I was a bit stupid and had a bad memory even though I had a job managing a team of five professionals and earning twice the national average salary.

Dyslexia may have helped in my photography check out my “about me”  page to see what I have achieved to date.

Post a comment saying how dyslexia has helped or hindered your photography.

Dyslexics of the world unite.

(c) AndyBeel FRPS

10 responses to Dyslexics of the world unite

  1. deddlebugs says:

    Hey! I think you have something here for I also have this. I know of many artists who have it. Maybe it is not a bad thing! I do know it is a pain in the bottom.

    Like

  2. parasol says:

    I am an overly “lexic” person (I can’t drive by a billboard on the highway without feeling to urge to read it – just addicted to letters). Yet I’ve always had a way with images. Don’t think you have to be one or the other; in fact, visual recognition ability is often what’s mainly impaired in many forms of dyslexia. However, I love your image here! Where was it taken?

    Like

  3. Aha! I am with you, brother. I posted about it not long ago: http://kiwsparks.wordpress.com/2011/06/23/et-in-arcania-ego-weird-is-good/
    I do think your work is marvelous, and not *just* because you’re dyslexic! 😉 Come to think of it, I posted a paean to black-and-white work not long ago too:
    http://kiwsparks.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/art-in-a-tuxedo-why-black-and-white-is-the-perpetual-classic/
    I’m delighted to have been introduced to your work and site via Our Mutual Friend Otto von Munchow. Will enjoy exploring and learning from you as well!
    Kathryn

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Kathryn – you are a talented artist much better than my pathetic attempts donkeys years ago.
      Thanks for dropping by my blog.

      Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

