The tactile expression of creativity

Please look at the picture full size against the grey back ground.

All the Fotospeed Photographers such as Joe Cornish and John Swannell are at the very top of our profession and we have the same passion for the printed form of the medium. See www.joecornishgallery.co.uk/ and www.johnswannell.com/ for their stunning work.

I don’t talk about my sponsors fotospeed.com  enough who very kindly allow me to follow my love of black and white photography and particularly the joy I get from inspiring and helping other photographers to learn, grow and flourish. See www.andybeelfrps.co.uk for further details about Monochrome Masterclasses, One to Ones etc.

We the Fotospeed photographers all feel that a photograph is not finished and fully appreciated until you hold the culmination of your vision, art and craft in your hands. The sense of satisfaction that comes from making an expressive fine print is a tremendous achievement. The fine print is the very tactile expression of your creativity.

One of the many ways that Fotospeed promotes the craft of fine print making in black and white or colour is the sponsored Lecture Service. The Lecture Services provides Fotospeed Photographers to photographic groups and clubs for an evening’s print talk, this service is available across the whole of the UK.

As I mentioned the new Fotospeed Photographers Joe Cornish and John Swannell who both are great landscape photographers I thought it would be wise (or not ) to use a landscape of mine for this post. Ynys Cyngar on the Afon Glaslyn is an idyllic place to live. This picture was taken in April this year just before it started raining. I wanted this picture to have a sense of lightness and open space.

A big hello to all the new followers of my little blog.

(c) Andy Beel FRPS

www.andybeelfrps.co.uk

7 responses to The tactile expression of creativity

  1. LensScaper says:

    A beautiful spot. The Powder House at Ynys Cyngar is one of my favourite locations on this coastline. Beautiful image, Andy. I posted ‘The Powder House’ describing the history of this place about 10days ago. You may have seen it.

    Like

  2. gamaraca says:

    This is lovely Andy! I never know when to finish my editing and whe I look at your images I ask the same of you! Maybe another post!

    Like

    • andybeel says:

      Hi Gabby thanks for asking an interesting question. The simple answer is, when it looks and feels satisfying to you. Perhaps a question to ask yourself is “have I achieved the highest potential for this picture?” “Does it sing or sag?” There is a school of thought that says you should only do the minimum to achieve the result you are after. I will keep working on a picture until it says what I want it to say.

      You ask a perceptive question – for this picture above I had at least 3 different crops and as many differing versions of tonality. Some pictures are relatively easy others are not.

      The picture in the post “After Mr WE Smith” was hard to control and process and then to difficult to decide what chords of shadow contrast (as AA would have said) were required, and that was after a year of looking at it.

      Hope this helps. Andy

      Like

Please share your thoughts on this post

Pingbacks & Trackbacks